top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Eldridge

It's Electric...

...boogie woogie woogie

...Dance Music

It's Passion Projects!

We've started working on our passion projects in class and it's been really interesting so far!

I have teamed up with my friend Merrill to work on the project and I am really excited to be working with her!

We both found out quickly that we're both really into music so we started exploring there! She has a friend who runs a FB group called Drum Circle Productions! They seemed like a good person to help out so we got to researching!

Drum Circle Productions is and EDM (electronic dance music) focused group that puts on different shows and events. After some quick research we found a bunch of communications issues we could help them with.

We thought all was well until we hit a little snag.

After some consultation with Christina we realized we were surface level creating solutions but we weren't solving any problems. So now we are taking a step back and looking at all the data we have collected to see if there even is a problem or a missing need.

We have a few hypothesis about the EDM community

  • They have stereotype issues they'd like to be better

  • Everything is word of mouth so it's hard for outsiders to know whats going on

  • People don't have time to go to shows

We did create a survey and we have gotten quick a few responses so now its just trying to make sense of the data. But I think one hypothesis is sticking out

"Everything is word of mouth (including social media) so it's hard for outsiders to know what's going on"

I find this to be a problem for a few reasons

  1. A huge majority of survey participants came from Merrill's group of friends. Whom a majority are already highly familiar with EDM and are all in the community together and shared the survey with each other through FB (This points to a fact that the community might be more clique-y which would be hard for outsiders to get in)

  2. One of the questions was "how did you get into EDM" a majority answered "through friends"

  3. Another question "How do you find out about EDM shows" a majority answered "through friends/social media" (We know on social media you are mostly connected with your friends so if you aren't connected to friends who are in this group you won't hear about shows"

  4. I personally have 1 friend who is always promoting EDM shows. But they are more the big out of state festival shows so I never pay attention to them (Again going back to having to be connected to at least 1 person to know about shows. If I was connected to more people I would probably know about more local shows)

From all of this I think the huge thing that is lacking is promotion to outsiders of the EDM community. I agree with the survey people that I bet EDM shows are fun but unless you are already connected to that group you don't know anything about it. If there was a away to connect people, who aren't regular listeners but enjoy the music, to local EDM shows that would be great! Also, I don't think it have to be hugely EDM focused. I think just having a distinct place where people can easily know what shows are going on would be great. I say this because as a Richmond-r I feel like I never know whats going on!




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page